About Mongolia

    Mongolia is the 19th largest and the most sparsely populated independent country in the world. It is also the world's second-largest landlocked country after Kazakhstan. It is bordered by Russia to the north and China to the south, east and west. Mongolia is one of the world's last undiscovered travel destinations to visit. It is a land where you can experience wide-open spaces, cobalt blue skies, forests, deserts, crystal clear rivers and lakes, and the traditional hospitality of the local nomads. Permanent dwellings are few and far between, fences even fewer and the land is owned by the people, like one large National Park. As a tremendous destination to experience the outdoors, Mongolia also boasts of unique history dating back to the Mongol Empire of Genghis Khan. Simply put, it is a land of adventure, horses, nomads, and blue sky.

Mongolia basic information


  2.8 million


  1,566,000 sq km (610,740 sq mi)

Land boundaries:

  8,158 km, with Russia 3,485 km and with China 4,673 km

Average altitude:

  1,580 m above sea-level


  Vast semi-desert and desert plains, mountains in west and    southwest,Gobi Desert in southeast


  Khalkha Mongols (86%), Kazaks (6%), about a dozen other Mongolian ethnic groups


  Mongolian, Kazakh, Russian, Chinese. English is widely spoken in Ulaanbaatar.


  Tibetan Buddhism, Muslim, Christian and Shamanism

Literacy rate:



Average summer temperature +20'C, average winter temperature -26'C, average rainfall 200-220 mm. Winter lasts from November to late April, Spring from May through June, Summer from July through September.

Political system:

Parliamentary republic. President elected for four years. Present President Elbegdorj Tsahia, elected in 2009. Prime Minister appointed by State Great Khural for four years. Present Prime Minister Mr. Batbold. Su was appointed in 2009.


State Great Khural (Parliament), unicameral with 76 members elected for four years. The last election was held in 2008.

Judicial system:

Mongolian judicial system consists of Constitutional Court , Supreme Court, Aimag and capital city courts, soum and district courts.

State structure:

Mongolia is a unitary state and divided administratively into Aimags (21) and a capital city; Aimags are subdivided into soums; soums into bags; and a capital city into districts; districts into khoroos.

National currency:

Tugrik (MNT), 1USD = 1370MNT ; 1EUR= 1815 MNT  (Jan 2013)

Fiscal year:

January 1 - December 31

Main entry points:

Chinggis Khaan (airport in Ulaanbaatar ), Sukhbaatar (railway station on Mongolian-Russian border) and Zamyn Uud (railway station on Mongolian-Chinese border)

Sea access:

Tianjin/China (1,344 km) and Nakhodka/Russia (4,037 km)

Public holidays:

December 31- January 1 - New Year 3 days in January/February - Mongolian New Year (Tsagaan Sar), June 1 - Mother and Child day, July 11-13 - National Holiday (Naadam)


GMT +8

Normal working hours:

09.00-13.00 and 14.00-18.00

Electric current:

220 volts/50 HZ

Weight and measures:

Metric System

Visa arrangements:

Visa shall be issued by Mongolia Embassies and Diplomatic Missions as well as Honorary consuls of Mongolia Overseas.